Skip to main content

RR+: The Hobbit translated into Romansh - crowdfunding now!

If you have a bit of money to spare and would to support a very special translation of Tolkien’s The Hobbit, hop on over to this crowdfunding venture (Opens in a new window) happening right now with the Swiss publishing house Ediziun Apart (Opens in a new window) (information is available in German, French, and Italian; this is a link (Opens in a new window) to a Google Translator version in English.)

After years of preparation and the necessary agreements with HarperCollins Ediziun Apart is set to publish the translation of Not Battesta Soliva.

It gives me great pleasure of seeing that a colleague received the support of the Übersetzerhaus in Looren (Opens in a new window) [pdf] during his work on this translation. I have had the pleasure of visiting the Europäisches Übersetzer-Kollegium (Opens in a new window) (European Translator's Residence) in Straelen many times for my translations and had hoped to visit Looren on a stipend some time.

Anyway, it is always amazing to see a ‘new’ translation of The Hobbit, particularly into ‘smaller’ languages.

Do share this as much as you can - and chip in if you can! 😇

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🥰 (Opens in a new window)

Topic Tolkien's Works

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member