Skip to main content

Fingolfin's Findings XXXV: Martin Luther & J.R.R. Tolkien

The above image is a copy of a papal bull titled DECET ROMANUM PONTIFICEM in which Pope Leo X excommunicates Martin Luther. If you care for a full translation of the papal bull you can find it here (Opens in a new window). The Vatican itself had written a short piece on this which has since been deleted but is still available via the WebArchive (Opens in a new window).  For more background and its part in the Reformation I would refer you to the Wikipedia article (Opens in a new window) on it. 

The reason why I am linking all of this in another edition of #FinFin is the date of it. And I was reminded recently of this particular date when browsing the web - as is my wont - that a podcast episode caught my attention which was published on January 3rd, 2022 (Opens in a new window)

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member