Skip to main content

Fingolfin's Findings XXXIX: A rare photo of J.R.R. Tolkien, ca. 1973

Thanks to a proud dad (Opens in a new window) who accompanied his son to his new place of learning, Merton College, I today found (or possibly re-discovered, it feels familiar somehow) a photo of J.R.R. Tolkien sitting at the stone table (Opens in a new window) he appreciated so much. [The link does no longer work as OUI is no longer available. See article update below.]

Quite a few table have started calling it 'Tolkien's Table' or linking it to the Stone Table in Lewis' Narnia stories which sounds rather unlikely but it is a fact that the college has restricted acccess to it in recent years because some tourists could not behave themselves. 

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member