Skip to main content

A Creative Sprint, a Musical Mishap, and a Decision for You

Hey everyone,

Last week, I shifted my focus from creating content for platforms to prioritising the people who truly value my work—you. This decision sparked a surge of creative energy within me. I was buzzing with ideas, wondering what I should make next. As a neurodivergent individual, I found myself overthinking every possibility for a full 48 hours.

To break free from this mental loop, I decided to take a different approach. I visited my social media account and randomly selected a post created by my incredible support and assistant, Olu. For context, Olu lives in Nigeria and has been helping me for the last two years. Many of the text and picture posts you see on my Instagram are crafted by Olu, whilst I make the video and audio content. My plan was simple: choose one of Olu's posts and create an audio or video version of it.

I thought this would be a straightforward process. I wasn't starting from scratch, and I believed I could create something fairly quickly as long as I didn't overthink it. Things began smoothly. I swiftly put together a script and even found a rare moment amidst my busy schedule of family and full-time work to record it. I was thrilled, thinking the hardest part was behind me. All that remained was the editing process—cleaning up the audio and adding some music. Easy, right?

Well, that's where my creative sprint hit a stumbling block. You see, editing is the part of content creation that I have a love-hate relationship with. I obsess over every little detail and, to this day, I'm never fully satisfied with anything I create. This time, I was determined to break that pattern. I visited a music site, intending to choose a track that might fit my recording. For context, I've been known to spend days agonising over music selection. However, this time, I picked the first thing that caught my eye and attached it to the intro of my episode.

When I listened back, I was utterly stunned.

The music I had casually selected transformed my casual recording into what sounded like the trailer for an epic film. Now, I find myself at a crossroads, unsure how to proceed. Should I match that same energy throughout the entire episode, or should I tone down the intro to better align with the rest of the content?

In the spirit of sharing my best work and my creative dead-ends (which I discussed in my post last week - if you haven't read it, click here), I've decided to turn to you, my community, for guidance. I'm attaching the clip to this post, and I want to hear your thoughts:

  • Should I maintain the same high-energy vibe throughout the entire episode?

  • Should I tone things down because the intro sounds a bit too hyped?

  • Or, Should I let this one go and start fresh with a new approach?

The choice is yours. Comment, message me, or participate in the poll on Patreon (Opens in a new window)to let me know what you think I should do. Whatever path I choose, you will be the first to see or hear the result.

I'm excited to hear your feedback and insights. Together, let's create something amazing!

All the best,

KK

Topic Featured Posts

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Black History Buff and start the conversation.
Become a member