Skip to main content

Beyond the Likes: Why I'm Putting My Best Work Behind the Scenes

Dear Family, 

Social media and I have a complicated relationship. On one hand, it's connected me with friends worldwide and allowed my voice to reach far beyond my physical reach. Lately, however, the algorithmic echo chamber has started to feel more like a prison than a platform.

As a creator focused on black history, it's disheartening to see my feed filled with meme videos rather than the diverse, educational content I strive to create and consume. I've caught myself slipping into the trap of creating content to appease the algorithm rather than staying true to my mission.

A prime example of this algorithmic pressure was when I posted about Diane Abbott and the unacceptable abuse she faces online. I felt it was such an important conversation to have, but the algorithm decided no one would see it. I wondered if it was a 'bad' video, pulled it down and even dumbed down my next post to get more views. That's not why I got into this work.

So here's my new plan: I'll still be active on social media, but I'll focus on short-form, teaser content there. The real meat of my work - the detailed analysis, the in-depth stories, the behind-the-scenes research—will be primarily, and sometimes exclusively, on my membership platforms.

I want my membership community to be a space where I can freely explore ideas, even if they don't always lead to a polished end product. I want to share those starts and stops, those intellectual cul-de-sacs because they're all part of my learning journey. And who knows? Maybe someone in the community will be inspired to pick up where I left off or offer a new perspective that takes the exploration in a whole new direction. That's the kind of organic, collaborative learning that social media algorithms just aren't designed for.

If you value that kind of depth, behind-the-scenes access, that sense of intellectual adventure - I invite you to join my membership community, which you can join for FREE.

It's where I'll share my best, most ambitious work and where we can learn and grow together, free from the algorithm's constraints.

If you’re interested in joining me, head over to:

Patreon https://www.patreon.com/Blackhistorybuff (Opens in a new window)

Or join me at Steady HQ https://steadyhq.com/blackhistory (Opens in a new window)

I can't wait to learn with you.

Blessings,

KK

Topic Featured Posts

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Black History Buff and start the conversation.
Become a member