Saltar para o conteúdo principal

NO NONSENSE #38

Hey, dolls!

We’re back with another instalment of our recommendations newsletter, with loads of TV, books, and films to enjoy if you’re in a slump. Enjoy!

Gina Tonic- Senior Editor

Rainbow Black by Maggie Thrash | Goodreads

Film: Alien 3
All the Alien films are on Disney Plus, and as I’d never seen more than the first one before, I’m making my way through them all. This one really ticked all my 90s movie blockbuster boxes and was such a return to form after a lacklustre /Aliens/ sequel that was a bit too gun/army-filled for my liking.

Book: Rainbow Black by Maggie Thrash
It's a juicy Satanic panic novel that’s light enough not to get too bogged down by how horrible some of the content is. I really loved reading this one!

Charlotte Landrum- Platform Editor

THE GREEN RAY - American Cinematheque

Book: Hick by Andrea Portes
Hick (2011) is secretly my favourite film, and I have finally read the book. It is the ultimate stereotypical American runaway/road trip story that includes every trope, and you can’t beat it. Unfortunately, when they made the film, they decided to cast Blake Lively, Chloe Grace Mortez and Eddie Redmayne as the leads, so whilst reading it, I just have them in my head. But despite this, it’s entertaining and enjoyable.

Film: The Green Ray by Éric Rohmer

Jesus Christ. This has now entered my Letterboxd top four, and I can’t express how beautiful it is! Rohmer is a master of capturing a beautiful summer day. Endless shots of characters eating grapes in a blooming garden in the French countryside intertwine with the characters' sadness and detachment. The protagonist, Dauphine, cannot stop crying at every beautiful beach she wanders off to. So true.

Misha MN - Culture Editor

Bright Young Things (2003) - IMDb

Film - Bright Young Things

I might have recommended this before, but I’m going to do it again because I love it so much. It's an adaptation of the truly fantastic Evelyn Waugh novel Vile Bodies, directed by Stephen Fry (his only directing credit so far) and released in 2003. Following London's anarchic young rich socialites, it is a whirling kaleidoscope of parties, drinking, queerness and fancy dress, everything I’ve ever wanted. The dialogue is whip-smart, mainly because Fry also wrote the screenplay and left in large amounts of text from the book, which is hilarious and poignant. This film also boasts a cavalcade of British talent, everyone is in it, a dazzling turn from a young Michael Sheen, James McAvoy, David Tennant, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton, Richard E Grant, Peter O’Toole, Simon Callow, and a fantastic appearance by Stockard Channing as a visiting American Evangelist.

YouTube - Stephen Sondheim masterclasses

In 1984, the incredible musical theatre writer, composer, and director Stephen Sondheim gave a series of masterclasses for some of his most famous songs at Guildhall Drama School for The South Bank Show. These clips were collected together and used for another Sondheim retrospective episode in 2010 and have seen a popular resurgence on YouTube after Sondheim’s death in 2021. The videos of these masterclasses are amazing. It shows Sondheim to be a fantastic teacher, gentle but still disciplined, and it is a fascinating insight into how he wrote and intended some of his best songs to sound. Highly recommend looking these up on YouTube to anyone who has ever had to perform on stage, as it talks a lot about intention and the colouring of phrases, or even to anyone who has a passing interest in his musicals. My favourite is the one about My Friends from Sweeney Todd, but that’s because I’m currently going through a Sweeney renaissance and listening to every cast recording on Spotify.

Music - Mina

I’ve been on a 60s Italian kick for about two months now, ever since I renewed my passport so I could go to Venice, and I’m obsessed. Before I dive into Mina, some honourable mentions are Tango Italiano by Cocki Mazzetti, Quando Quando Quando by Tony Renis, and The Eternal Volare by Domenico Modugno. These are all great, but Mina is on another level. With wild hair and wilder make-up, she is the kind of ballad-singing diva I dream of. Se Telefonando is a great crescendo of longing and pleading, Grande Grande Grande is poignant and wistful, utterly timeless, and Vorrei Che Fosse Amore brings the drama I crave. Almost all these songs can be found on the great 2015 album The Collection 3.0 on Spotify, all remastered and sounding crisp and perfect. But in recent weeks, a new favourite has emerged. There is a remix of the classic Ancora, ancora, ancora (what’s with all these three repeated word titles?) that just really gets me in the guts. I love it so much. It’s by Mark Ronson, which is a bit embarrassing, but I guess he has to be good at music production or he wouldn’t be as famous as he is. I’m listening to the extended version on repeat and highly expect to see it in my top five on Spotify wrapped later this year.

Sihaam Naik- Editorial Fellow

Book: Ways of Seeing by John Berger

Ahead of some fun museum outings this week, I decided to read this cult art critique book by John Berger, and it was everything and more. John speaks of art history, advertisements, the sociological implications of brushstrokes and art movements, and how this relates to modern-day art critiquing. I went in with an open mind, knowing very little about the subject matter, and came out with a treasury of knowledge that relates to just about everything.

Making Your Own Toner Pads

I refuse to fall prey to purchasing £40 toner pads in a fancy airtight box. Instead, this weekend I got my nicest least stained tupperware, emptied the rest of my Pixi Beauty Hello Kitty toner in and added around 40 square cotton pads to soak. The result? My very own toner pads that work just as well as their expensive counterpart. DIY skincare!

Prince Charles Cinema Membership

I have all of the free 16-25 memberships to institutions of art and cinemas in London, and it’s the best decision I’ve ever made. The only membership I’ve purchased is to Prince Charles Cinema and for the low, low price of £15 a year, you can too! Their programme contains nostalgic classics, including the Twilight franchise, Interstellar and the Rocky Horror Picture Show. Members get discounts on their popcorn, too, so I’m guilty of popping in for a discounted treat whenever I’m around the area. 10/10!

Hatti Rex - Contributing Editor

Hysteric Rooms #1 — magCulture

TV Show: Hacks
Season 3 is here, and if you’ve ever had a gay crush on Christina Hendricks, you need to watch episode 6. That’s all I can realistically say without spoiling it. Watch it!!!!!!

Zine: Hysteric Rooms
Like everybody else in London, I went to the Offprint London book fair in the Tate Modern’s Turbine Hall last weekend. This photo zine by Daisy Davidson features a bunch of alternative young people hanging out in their bedrooms who equally match their aesthetic, and it’s one of my favourite things that I picked up.

Master Kong Iced Lemon Tea
I’m a fiend for iced tea, and this specific one from the Chinese supermarket near my house is my current fixation. Drink straight out of the fridge, or it’s not worth it.

Ur mum
Self-explanatory

See you next time!

XOXO

The Polyester Team

0 comentários

Gostaria de ser o primeiro a escrever um comentário?
Torne-se membro de Polyester Zine e comece a conversa.
Torne-se membro