Saltar para o conteúdo principal

Embracing Change and Reinventing Your Path featuring Daniel-Yaw Miller, Sports Correspondent at The Business of Fashion

‘Transitioning my career brought moments of self-doubt and impostor syndrome’

THINKING ABOUT CHANGING YOUR CAREER?

Starting a new career path can often feel daunting and lonely. Where do you begin? Who do you reach out to for support? Transitioning from one industry to another is a challenge. Our founder, Bisoye Babalola (Abre numa nova janela), sat down with Daniel-Yaw Miller (Abre numa nova janela), Sports Correspondent at The Business of Fashion (BoF), to discuss how he successfully pivoted from a legal career to journalism.

Bisoye:

Could you please share a bit about your journey, how did you start working in Sports Journalism? How did you navigate decision-making and muster the confidence to pursue a career change?

Daniel-Yaw:

I realised that my career path wasn’t sustainable in the long term, even though I was enjoying my experience. At the time, I was working in the in-house legal team of the Premier League. I decided to pursue writing, which I enjoyed when I was younger, as a formal career. I began exploring topics I was interested in, especially the intersection of sports and fashion. I started by writing for various fashion publications, focusing on sports-related topics that fascinated me. I gradually built up my confidence by writing about these areas and receiving positive feedback. Eventually, I came across BoF and saw an opportunity to apply my legal background and writing skills. I emphasised my experience and submitted articles I had written for other publications. I expressed my interest in focusing on streetwear, menswear, and the role of sport in fashion.

Please sign up to access the rest of this content. Becoming a subscriber supports Holiday Club and our initiatives.

START YOUR FREE TRIAL (Abre numa nova janela)

Tópico Interviews

0 comentários

Gostaria de ser o primeiro a escrever um comentário?
Torne-se membro de HOLIDAY CLUB e comece a conversa.
Torne-se membro