Skip to main content

Fingolfin's Findings XXXIV: Fake 'Tolkien video' telling people to shut up on the 'Eagles & the Ring'

https://youtu.be/1-Uz0LMbWpI?feature=shared (Opens in a new window)

I am hopeful for the upcoming series - meaning, at least the next five to ten years - and the renewed interest in J.R.R. Tolkien's life and works. Most of it will be about adaptations and far removed from Middle-earth and its author itself but whoever happens to finally read Leaf by Niggle or Farmer Giles of Ham out of curiosity is a huge win in my eyes.

Unfortunately, the rise of social media and a few other things besides have led to side-effects that really are a pain in the bum. To give you an example simply click the video up top and listen to Youtuber Asher Puls pretending to be JRRT, telling fans to shut up about the perennial "why didn't the eagles fly the Ring to Mount Doom?" question. 

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member