Skip to main content

"Plans to refurbish Oxford library used by Tolkien revealed"

When the Oxford Mail used this headline (Opens in a new window) on June 16th, 2021,  it could have used the names of a number of Old Exonians to make its point: Martin Amis, Edward Burne-Jones, William Morris or Philip Pullman would have been obvious choices. Athlete Roger Bannister and actor Richard Burton might also have come to mind while Dominic Cummings, campaign director of Vote Leave, might not be the college's head of communications' first choice.

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🥰 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member