Skip to main content

I bought this book for one paragraph and a footnote - and here's the reason why

The Letters of G.S. Gordon, 1902-1942 may not sound terribly familiar to you. However, when I mention to you that he was educated at Oriel College, Oxford (Opens in a new window), where he received a First Class in Classical Moderations (Opens in a new window) in 1904, and was a Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford (Opens in a new window), from 1907 to 1915, this might ring a bell.

He was Merton Professor (Opens in a new window) of English Literature from 1922 to 1928 - not to be confused with the Merton Professor of English Language and Literature, a position Tolkien held from 1945 - 1959 - but you do get the idea that he was a leading academic whose lifetime coincided with Tolkien's.

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🥰 (Opens in a new window)

Topic Tolkien's Life

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member