Skip to main content

A Roving Ranger Special Edition: An anniversary to celebrate, a jubilee to come, and a Fandom Friday Special

Hello and welcome to another Special Edition of the Roving Ranger.

First of all, let me share this fifteen minute chat I had with Alan Sisto of the Prancing Pony Podcast (Opens in a new window) for the latest edition of Fandom Friday (Opens in a new window).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=og3f1U3GYKc&t=179s (Opens in a new window)

It is an absolute joy and privilege to be invited and I hope I was able to share a bit of my enthusiasm for all things Tolkienian.

So thanks to Alan - doubly so! - as he is also part of my fellowship here at Steady, including Tolkien scholar John Garth (Opens in a new window), members of the TolkienGuide (Opens in a new window) team and one of the leading Tolkien linguists (Opens in a new window) in the world from ELF.

Second, today is the first anniversary of the Tolkienist at Steady. The first actual post was published on January 27, 2023 and it was: The Royal Mint and its 2023 Annual Sets - including a JRR Tolkien £2 coin (Opens in a new window). Did you get one of them?

And third, a jubilee of sorts is coming up on March 1st - The One-hundredth Roving Ranger.

When I wrote the first Roving Ranger on July 3rd, 2020, I did not really think about getting to one hundred issues of it but here we are, almost four years later.

Thank you for subscribing, it really is an honour to share this curated list of the best in all things Tolkienian on a regular basis.

My question to you: Is there something you would like to share for a #RovingRanger100 special edition?

I am thinking of doing something extra for this jubilee - and if you have a line or two to share on what you like about the Roving Ranger, some news that really fascinated and/ or surprised you, or suggestions and/or questions I might take up or answer…

Send me an email to marcel@thetolkienist.com (Opens in a new window) with the subject line: #RovingRanger100 and let me know. I’d be delighted to hear from you!

➡️ Deadline: February 25, 2024. ⬅️

In preparation for #RovingRanger100 I have made Trial Memberships for the Tolkienist at Steady available - from today until March 1st.

This will give you the opportunity to have a look at almost 300 posts, well over 200 of which are exclusive to my members. If you cancel that membership within that trial period you will not be charged!

Topic Inter alia

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member