Skip to main content

Looking back at the good things that happened in 2022

A second time really does not make for a tradition but after last year's post (Opens in a new window) I wanted to share some of the good things that happened to me in 2022 - even though the year started fairly disappointingly.

Some of you may have read this in between the lines at times but I had ended the relationship with my former wife Sara in October 2019, after almost fourteen years, including seven years of marriage. You may imagine that 2019 was the worst year of my life, not only personally but also professionally - and then the pandemic hit.

The years of the pandemic were really bad and all of the time I still had that dark cloud hovering over me that our divorce had not gone through yet and that I had to apply for legal aid to make it happen - which it finally did, on January 13th. 15 months of waiting. Given the fact that we had no money, no real estate, no children, there was really nothing to settle I shudder at the times people have to wait when there are things you are going to fight about.

Anyway, the day itself was absolutely lovely. Sara and me went for a posh breakfast, had tons of laughs, got the whole thing over in four and a half (!) minutes, and then went our separate ways (see the last photo from the Potsdamer Square in Berlin.)

Lucky for me, things got better after that. 😄

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member