Skip to main content

Fingolfin's Findings XXXVII: Benjamin Bagby's BEOWULF

Many years ago - 2006, to be more exact - I had the great pleasure of witnessing a performance which transported me as closely as possible to Anglo-Saxon times as I could ever have imagined: Benjamin Bagby sang, spoke, recited and brought to life an impressive part of Beowulf at Wheaton College, MA, where Michael Drout has his chair.

It was perfectly captivating and mesmerising to see how a man of our times transformed himself into an artist who could have been invited to a mead hall in ancient times to sing and tell stories of heroes, of fate and death – a bard whose knowledge and talent would make a nobleman’s court sit in silence and listen.

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member