Skip to main content

February bookclub reveal!

This month's pick is a gripping, emotionally resonant novel based on a true crime

Thanks for subscribing to The Shift. If you're already a paying member, thank you. Your support makes this newsletter and The Shift podcast possible. Paying members get weekly newsletters and culture round-ups, access to the community and the full archive (plus there's more on the cards). All for less than the price of a (large) coffee a month. Also, I'll be putting the prices up at the end of April so, if you're interested, upgrade to paid now.

Hands up, I'm a big fan of Emma Flint. Her debut, Little Deaths, was longlisted for the Women's Prize the year I was a judge and TBF if I'd had my way it would have been shortlisted too. (If I'm allowed to say that? I suspect I'm not. Ah well.) Anyhow, Flint excels at taking historical true crimes and turning them into emotionally resonant, psychologically astute literary thrillers that are just as pertinent today.

Where Little Deaths told the story of the deaths of two young children in one sweltering New York summer, the suspicion placed on their not-societally-perfect mother and the expectations placed on women in the 1960s (based on the true case of Alice Crimmins), Other Women turns its attention to a case that's more than a century old, that of Emma Kaye. 

To read this post and be in with a chance of getting a free copy you'll need to become a member of The Shift + Bookclub.

upgrade your membership (Opens in a new window)

Topic books