Skip to main content

Invisible to who?

That’s the question that really matters when we’re talking about older women

Grace and Frankie, very, very visible – if you're looking

Thanks for subscribing to The Shift. If you're already a paying member, thank you. If not, and you'd like more articles like this direct to your inbox every week, plus unlocked access to the archive, community and more, why not join The Shift?

Earlier this week I was hit on by a random bloke in a coffee shop. There are so many things wrong with this sentence, I hardly know where to start. Firstly and most importantly I was working. It was glaringly obvious I was working, short of putting up a sign saying WORKING. I was reading a book in preparation for an interview, I was frantically note-taking because I’d cut it a bit fine with the prep and, precisely to avoid anyone trying to make polite conversation, I had my EarPods in. (Pink noise on the Sleepsounds app – I’m listening to it now, it’s bloody brilliant for cutting out distraction, just not this particular distraction).

I was vaguely aware of someone in my peripheral vision because he and his bags sat closer than was strictly necessary, especially in a not-really-post-covid world, but I didn’t really see him.

“Lovely coffee.”

I’m sorry, what?

“Lovely coffee,” he repeated.

Apart from the originality bypass This was self-evidently not true. The coffee in this particular chain is fine, but it’s not worthy of comment. It’s chain coffee. It does the job. Same goes for the muffins.

I nod-shrugged and went back to the book. Then he said something else and when I didn’t respond (because I wasn't bloody listening), waved his hand in front of my face as if I wasn’t aware it was me he was trying to distract.

To read the rest of this post, you need to be a member. Membership starts from £5 a month (£4 if paid annually)

join the shift (Opens in a new window)

Topic long reads