Zum Hauptinhalt springen

About being seen

CN: This text briefly mentions violence and abusive behaviour, but without going into detail.

Until a few years ago, writing was as much a part of my life as breathing. Since I was 9 years old, I regularly wrote diaries, and as I got older, stories and poems. I started writing books at 13, but never finished even one (neurospicy authors - how do you do it?) and slam poetry at around 20. I remember seeing this famous performance of Julia Engelmann and immediately started writing. I didn't know that THAT could also be poetry.

A lot of my past revolved around this: being allowed. Am I allowed to dress like that, say something like that, think something like that, be something like that? Very often the answer was "no". As a neurodivergent, queer child categorized as female, this was an everyday experience. I was too much of everything and too little at the same time, so I began to study how I should be. It was my only mission. Until I got older and got literally sick of it. Before then only in my diaries did I allow myself to be myself – very cautiously. Anything else seemed too dangerous.

When I started with poetry slam, it was like a diary reading for me that no longer remained just for me. It was the beginning of showing myself. At first, I only read my texts to people I knew, then more and more often to people I didn't know. I noticed that my words were not only received, but also heard and, in special cases, even resonated with other people. In moments like that, a connection was made. My experience was no longer "mine“; it was "ours" and the proof: I was no longer alone. I revealed myself, sometimes cryptically hidden behind rhyming phrases, but clear enough to guess what I meant and sometimes direct enough to say what I needed to say. At least I think so. I stood on a stage, showed myself and was seen. I was a real person, with a story, with a language. And for 7 minutes, I was allowed to speak and talk about myself.

Being seen is existential because it testifies to our existence. Being truly seen is a recognition of one's own being in the world. This is not just about our own identity, but about

To continue reading please subscribe to my project. You will not only support my work in doing so but receive all future texts conveniently per mail.

Subscribe here (Öffnet in neuem Fenster)

0 Kommentare

Möchtest du den ersten Kommentar schreiben?
Werde Mitglied von Chrisieh_ und starte die Unterhaltung.
Mitglied werden