Passa al contenuto principale

Film Recommendation

Way back in 2007, I was finding my feet in the world of film journalism. I’d spent a few years on the fringes, bobbing and weaving to make a crust (and getting some good practice writing for the early, funny issues of Little White Lies) before landing a gig on Time Out London’s film section. I felt massively out of my depth, so any assignment I was given would double as an opportunity to home-school myself in the work of a certain director or actor. For one festival preview piece I ended up watching the entire Eric Rohmer corpus across about three weeks, and then later I was commissioned to write a profile of Frank Sinatra relating to his life as a screen actor (he was pretty good!).

One thrilling early task was to speak to Gena Rowlands on the phone, linked to a re-release of the 1977 film Opening Night and a season of Cassavetes films at the BFI Southbank (née NFT). At the point of commission, I knew the name, but hadn’t really encountered her in any meaningful way. And so across a single week I watched all the Cassavetes films I could find on home video, which was a fair few at that time, and prepared to talk to Ms Rowlands for 30 minutes and hopefully try and ask her some things she hadn’t been asked before.

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help us fund our work to ensure we can stick around long-term.

See our plans (Si apre in una nuova finestra)

0 commenti

Vuoi essere la prima persona a commentare?
Abbonati a Little White Lies e avvia una conversazione.
Sostieni