Skip to main content

Fingolfin’s Findings LVI: Celebrating the OED1’s completion in 1928 and a seating plan including Tolkien

There are so many occasions on the net when people realise ‘wow, this exists?’ and it is no surprise. So much knowledge has been accrued in mankind’s history it is often difficult to the see the forest for the huorns.

Now, I somehow remembered that there have been various celebrations throughout the history of the Oxford English Dictionary (Opens in a new window) (the one which Tolkien worked on as then the New English Dictionary).

But it was only when the wonderful James Tauber (Opens in a new window) recently mentioned the 1928 celebration’s seating plan with Xitter that I remembered there is quite the treasure trove on this online.

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🥰 (Opens in a new window)

Topic Inter alia

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member