Skip to main content

Unpacking a mystery box! 😨

Ever since I moved out of the flat my family had moved into in 1973 - in that case because I went abroad for my exchange year in Aberdeen, Scotland, from 1995-1996 - I have been moving around a fair bit. First of all mostly in Cologne as a student but later on, when my former wife had to move around Germany to finish her studies and improve her career options, I moved to Regensburg (for love), to Berlin (East, for her studies), to Würzburg (first major job option), to Berlin (West, for her dream job and lifetime employment), and now to Jena where I do hope to actually get my dissertation done. Somehow g.

One of the things that quite often fell by the wayside where a number of boxes, packages, and unopened envelopes I had put stuff in during the preparations for yet another move. These usually ended up in storage, in an attic or a cellar, and where left there while we settled into new surroundings and I promised myself to open them at the next opportunity.

Well, this did not really happen for a small number of these items, and I simply took them out of storage, into the next van, for the next move, and simply put them into some long-forgotten place at our new home. 

This 'mystery box' is one of them. And it is high time I unpacked it because I do not even remember what is in there.


This is an ongoing project and I will keep adding texts and images until it is fully unpacked and - at best - its contents catalogued and put away properly in my new home. My hope is that there actually things in there that have some sort of value to myself and/or a link to Tolkien. At worst, it might just be tons of trash! 

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member