Skip to main content

Oh, Vienna! The Travelling Tolkienist is travelling!

Now, my sincere apologies for pestering you with one of the 1980's most classic hits (Opens in a new window) by UK superband Ultravox - you might know its singer Midge Ure from his world hit If I Was (Opens in a new window)  with its groundbreaking video (Opens in a new window) or as one of the co-organisers of 1985's Live Aid (Opens in a new window) - but it is the one song I immediately connect with Austria's capital. No, do not talk to me about any waltzes, I do get dizzy when trying that particular kind of dance. Also, Ure funnily mistook the basic idea of the song with the mythical figure Rhiannon and the world hit (Opens in a new window) that Fleetwood Mac had with it. 

https://youtu.be/xJeWySiuq1I?si=YAmftg3dRew3_v0h (Opens in a new window)

Anyway, I have just booked a night train to Vienna as my very cute and local train station Jena-Göschwitz (Opens in a new window) happens to be: 

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member