Skip to main content

Introducing: Tolkien MeMes

Those of you who have met me in person will probably know that I have a  penchant for the silliest of puns: acronyms, word play, you name it. I  am particularly fond and proud of my ability to find abbreviations that  tend to be easily explained - but then thou art seriously mistaken!

Tolkien MeMes: Middle-earth Memories

I have always found it very unfortunate that if you use hashtags like #Tolkien you will only ever find pictures and GIFs from the film(s). I think it's up to us to promote interest in the life and works of the Professor and I am very happy to see so many people doing that.

Now, what I am going to do is share some of my very own #MiddleearthMemories with you - fun, interesting, fascinating, emotional moments of being a fan of Tolkien's for 30+ years now. Starting from that I am hoping that others may join in and share their very own stories - anecdotes you can tell and share with fellow Tolkienists.

My first MeMe I will present to you soon is my first ever Tolkien Project. Think of it as a week in high school, forcing fellow pupils and teachers into drawing Middle-earth maps, writing up chronologies and generally be a nuisance of Sauronian proportions to the people in my school when I got permission to do this project 😅

Soon to come: A Week in Walinor!

MeMes so far

Tolkien MeMes #1. The Tolkien Project Week (Opens in a new window).

Tolkien MeMes #2. Exhibiting Tolkien at Berlin's State & Central Library, (Opens in a new window) Nov 2012 - February 2013.

Tolkien MeMes #3. "The Lord of the Rings" - our favourite cast of 1998 (?).

Tolkien MeMes #4. »75 reasons why you should read ›The Hobbit‹ (Opens in a new window) before watching the films« or: How TheTolkienist.com started in 2012.

Tolkien MeMes #5. My first ever talk at Oxonmoot in 2001 (Opens in a new window).

Tolkien MeMes #6. "Der kleine Hobbit" (Opens in a new window) at the Balver Höhle, 1996.

This post was originally published (Opens in a new window) on May 21, 2020.
Updates to this post as they arise.

Topic The Patreon Archives

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member