Skip to main content

Things I would need for research: Why Madlener inspired 'Gandalf', not Gandalf

You may remember this post: "Der Berggeist" is the origin of 'Gandalf', not Gandalf: Josef Madlener, J.R.R. Tolkien, and a misunderstanding.” (Opens in a new window)

For me to finally disprove the notion that this particular drawing was the inspiration for the fictional character of Gandalf I would have to do archival work on the artist, Josef Madlener.

In Memmingen, Bavaria, Germany.

Let me tell you what would be needed.

Keep on reading by becoming my member here on Steady (Opens in a new window).

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🧙 (Opens in a new window)

Topic Tolkien's Works

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more and start the conversation.
Become a member