Skip to main content

Revisited: Does Albus Dumbledore have anything to do with Tolkien?

As a Tolkienist reading my favourite author’s works is both a pleasure and an inspiration. J.R.R. Tolkien has envisaged a fantastic world which seems both boundless and ever-changing as my own perception of its possible messages and hidden meanings changes over time (while perfectly ignoring the option that there are no messages and meanings.)

Recently, I stumbled over a single and very rare word in one of Tolkien’s most complex poems called ‘Errantry (Opens in a new window)‘ (which to students of English Literature and Linguistics at the University of Cologne was a pain in the backside as one of the professors had people try and find out its rhyme scheme – do have a go (Opens in a new window)!) and this word is ‘Dumbledors.’

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🥰 (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Patreon Archives

4 comments

Would you like to see the comments?
Become a member of The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more to join the discussion.
Become a member