Skip to main content

The Shift has a new home

Here's what you need to do to make sure you don't miss out

Don't drop the glitter ball!

It’s a big week for The Shift. We’re moving to Substack. Steady was a great starter home for the first year, but I want to do more, give you more and get to know you better which is why I decided it was time to, well, shift.

What it means for you: you get more, basically! 

Substack has lots going for it that makes it much easier for us to get to know each other. We will easily be able to chat and start discussion threads where you can like and upvote comments – so no more of those problems we had where you couldn’t see what you were replying to (Gah!). And this means I can now host guest Q&As – maybe worth trying for the bookclub?

I’ll also be moving additional podcast content to our new home (ad-free) and Substack’s audio function means that you’ll be able to listen to The Shift’s weekly newsletters if you don’t have time to read them.

So what happens next?

On Monday, 29 May, Steady will cancel and refund your membership. I’m told it will take three to five working days for the money to get back to your account.

At the same time, the lovely guys at Substack will add you to The Shift with Sam Baker's (Opens in a new window) mailing list. 

All current paying members of The Shift will be given a complimentary subscription for the first month, starting 31 May. As I’m not allowed to take your support with me, I’m going to have to ask you to do a couple of extra things to become a paid subscriber on Substack:

Paid subscriptions are now open on Substack. The cost of subscription is £7/month or £70/year. (This is higher than the lowest tier at Steady, but as there is only one tier on substack, this means all members get access to everything.)

You have a month to become a paying subscriber, but you can change your complimentary subscription to a paid one right now and you won’t lose the free month or be billed until the free trial is up. If you do this it will save me from a month of sleepless nights and earn you my undying love!

Making the decision to move has been scary, precisely because I wasn’t able to bring you all with me, so I hope you’ll decide to continue supporting The Shift in its new home.

Lastly, the schedule will be a bit disrupted this week while I clean house here, so if you don’t receive the standard newsletters on the standard days this week, don’t worry. Normal service will resume next week.

Thank you for being here.

See you on the other side!

Samx