Skip to main content

Jane Shepherdson answers The Questions I Always Ask

This week, sustainable fashion industry expert Jane Shepherdson shares her life learnings

What has been your biggest life shift?
Resigning from and leaving Topshop. I had worked there for over 20 years [rising from buyer to Brand Director], and my team were like my family. I was completely defined by what I did, and knew no other way to describe myself. In fact for some time after I referred to myself as the ex-CEO of Topshop! I went from being in charge of a multimillion global fashion brand with a huge team of very talented people, to being unemployed.  Both liberating and crushing!

What do you wish someone had told you about life after 40?
That you begin to care so much less what people think of you,  you have a lifetime of skills to fall back on, and that you will become completely invisible so you can do pretty much what you want.

The best thing about getting older is?
See the last answer!

To read the rest of this post you'll need to become a member of The Shift. Members help us fund our work to ensure we can stick around long-term.

become a member (Opens in a new window)

Topic Questions I always ask