Skip to main content

Georgina Moore answers The Questions I Always Ask

This week, the book publicist extraordinaire turned debut novelist tells us what she's learnt from starting a second career at 50

Thank you for subscribing to The Shift. If you're already a paying member, thank you. Your support makes this newsletter and The Shift podcast possible. Paying members get weekly newsletters, culture round-ups, access to the community and the full archive, and more. All for less than the price of a (large) coffee a month. Prices will be going up at the end of April so, if you're interested, upgrade to paid now!

What has been your biggest life shift?
Becoming a published author at 50. Everyone says ‘What took you so long?’ Which is just rude. There has been a lot of chauvinism around it – a woman my age with a good career isn’t supposed to then go and do something else, too. About now we’re supposed to be moving out of the limelight not into it. I have found the way people respond fascinating. After a career in publishing it is strange to be the other side (poacher turned gamekeeper) I have even more sympathy now for authors!

What do you wish someone had told you about life after 40?
How much the menopause would kick my behind. How old I would suddenly feel, creaky and fragile like an 80-year-old. And the anxiety! I had lived my life anxiety-free, pretty much, until the second half of my forties and I loved it that way. I went from that to thinking I couldn’t drive the car, that I was terrible at everything. It was when I realised that I wasn’t able to enjoy all the good stuff that was happening in my life that I realised I needed to get on HRT!

The best thing about getting older is?
Thicker skin. More sympathy for people’s flaws, what they have been through, more empathy. I needed to get a bit more diplomatic and kind and aware of other people’s feelings and I hope I have a bit. But also if someone is not bringing joy I am able to move on from them with very little regret. I have a better awareness of life’s end and how brutally everything can be cut short. That makes things terrifying but also really pushes me on to do the things I really love and try and live in the moment a bit more too.

And the worst?
Not being able to stay up all night and party the way I once could. Also, I had kids later in life so when many women my age have kids going to university I have an eleven and twelve-year-old. I need a lot of energy for that and two jobs! That means that almost always now I choose an early night.

What’s your emotional age?
Thirty-two. I had a ball in my 30s. I was a Director in Publishing, I had disposable income, I was in and out of the Groucho club, and I was living an emotional minefield of excitement and drama and bad romantic choices, starring in my own mini drama. It couldn’t continue but it was fun while it lasted.

To read the rest of this post you'll need to become a member of The Shift. Members help us fund our work to ensure we can stick around long-term.

become a member (Opens in a new window)

Topic Questions I always ask