Skip to main content

It’s that Bikini Body BS time of year again

This started as a rant about Bikini Body culture. It ended up being something entirely different

Possibly the only remaining picture of me in a swimsuit, taken four years ago on Kefalonia. Very much not a fan.

Thanks for subscribing to The Shift. If you're already a paying member, thank you. If not, and you'd like to get this newsletter in your inbox every week, plus unlocked access to the archive, community and more, why not join The Shift?

How much of your life have you wasted worrying about your body? Not whether it’s working properly – as if – but how it looks?

As the now almost fully evolved human being that I like to think I am (on a good day, with a downhill wind etc) I’d like to say not a lot, but that would be a total lie: at 15, at 35 and, now, at 55 (give or take 12 days), I have wasted valuable hours (more like weeks) finding myself wanting. Especially during Bikini Body BS season, which henceforth we will call BBBS for short.

This all started when I saw this meme of Emma Thompson doing the rounds last night. “I know what I’m going to do. I’m going to waste my passion, my energy, my curiosity, my money, my life’s purpose worrying about my body. That’s what I’ll do. What a good idea,” she said on Late Night with Seth Myers.

To read the rest of this post and get weekly newsletters, you need to be a member. Membership starts from £5 a month (£4 if paid annually)

join the shift (Opens in a new window)

Topic long reads