Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #14

Hello hello hello to our lovely supporters <3

Welcome to our #14th No-Nonsense Newsletter. The newsletter where we give you all of our team recommendations. Here's what we are vibing with this month x

šŸ’‹ Lets get into it! šŸ’‹

šŸ•ŗšŸæTEAM RECOMMENDATIONSšŸ•ŗšŸæ

CONTRIBUTING EDITOR, HATTI REX

TV: The Way of the Househusband, itā€™s an anime about a yakuza gangster who is now domesticated and instead of doing crimes he does the housework but with the exact same energy and itā€™s very funny. His pet cat also has itā€™s own skit at the end. Hehe.

MUSIC: MGNA Crrrta because Iā€™m permanently on that New York indie sleaze revival it seems.

PARTNERSHIPS DIRECTOR, GINA STEWART

Book: The Cosmic Dance by Stephen Ellcock - I got this for Christmas which has some really beautiful imagery and words in.Ā 

TV/Film: I watched Emily in Paris and I'm ashamed haha. And Gina T told me I'm embarassing for watching Avatar 2 šŸ˜‚

Podcasts: I've been listening to Desert Island Discs...

JUNIOR EDITOR, CHARLOTTE LANDRUM

TV: I rewatched season one of True Detective and although it's the most male centric thing ever made it's so good to watch some real moody and existential crime solving televison.Ā 

MUSIC: I've been revisiting my love for Fugazi, especially the album The Argument.

OBJECT/ACTIVITY: After finally getting the right cables for it, I'm able to freely use my panasonic camcorder from the late 90s / early 2000s. There's just something so fun about using an old camera and making silly home videos.Ā 

EDEN YOUNG, SOCIALS EDITOR

TV: I just started watching The Offer, a limited series about the making of the godfather, and its very fun! Not too serious but gorgeous costumes, hair and aesthetics. Set in 1970 hollywood/new york which is an era I just love to see. Very mad men vibes aesthetic wise. anything that has sexy people playing actors that already exist and has the mafia in gets me excited tbh. It's a yes from me.

FILM: The Menu! so much fun! Didn't really know where this was going to go and it's wild. So much cinema this year has been about rich people having an absolutely terrible time and i'm so here for it. Deffo go into this blind, there's so many twists and turns. it's now on disney plus too let's goooooooo.

Also i want to give fried green tomatoes a shout out. I rewatched it with my mum over christmas. It's cheesy but i loved every minute. Women supporting women!!!! A great watch if you want a massive cry over a glass of wine about 1920s lesbians, kathy bates and getting old.

DEPUTY EDITOR, GINA TONIC

BOOKS: I just read A Certain Hunger over Xmas and it was another fab book about a female psychopath and kind of similar to The Menu, the haute cuisine world. It's a fun one to speed through with great depictions of female brutality.

TV: I'm finally watching Better Call Saul, which isn't very girlypops but it is really gripping telly. It has me on the edge of my seat every episode and has some really good hero/villain dynamics which I think is a bit lacking in some TV recently.

FILM: Literally just rewatched Barb and Star Visit Vista Del Mar and it's the best film in the world. If you like big fat laughs, musical numbers, Kristen Wiig being a freak in TWO roles and middle aged women, then this is the movie for you. The best comedy to come our for a long time!!

C ya soooon šŸ„°

XOXO,

Charlotte ā¤ļø

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member