Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #30

Hey dolls,

We’re back with another Polyester team recommendations email, this time with the loose theme of ROMANCE – it’s almost Valentine’s Day, and love is in the air after all. Here’s what we’ve each been getting into recently, plus a sprinkling of our favourite romance culture, for you to enjoy too <3

Lauren O’Neill - Copy Editor

Book: Bridget Jones’ Diary
Whenever anyone asks me what my favourite book is, I always say this one. Obviously everyone knows the film, but I really recommend diving into Helen Fielding’s original novel if you want to immerse yourself in both an amazing rom com and an excellent slice of 90s nostalgia. 

Gina Tonic – Deputy Editor

TV: Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Idk why it took me so long to come round to watching Buffy, but it’s a sick watch so far!! I love her outfits, the 90s one liners and the monster of the week set up. There’s over 140 episodes so it’s a great one to get stuck into as Your Show with a partner, the fun will never stop :K

Film: Mafia Mamma
Hatti and I watched this a couple of weeks ago and if you love Toni Collette it’s a must see. It’s fun to watch her be silly around Italy and it’s even better to enjoy a film with no discourse around it at all!

Charlotte Landrum – Platform Editor

Film: The Holdovers
Really good and made me cry a lot but it was a cathartic cry and I loved the 70s vibe of the filmmaking.

Book: Play It As It Lays by Joan Didion
I picked this up thinking it was gonna be essays but its actually a novel and im liking it a lot – it’s 60s California vibes.

Ione Gamble: Founding Editor-in-Chief

Buy some nice flowers
It will always and forever cheer you up <3

TV: Trigger Point on ITV
Truly terrible, my brain is rotten from the inside out, but if you need something bingeable to get through February it is compulsive viewing lol

See you next time,

XOXO,

The Polyester Team <3

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member