Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #12

🕺🏿 NO NONSENSE 🕺

Hello hello hello to our lovely supporters <3

Welcome to our #12th No-Nonsense Newsletter. The newsletter where we give you all of our team recommendations. Here's what we are vibing with this month x

đź’‹ Lets get into it! đź’‹

🕺🏿TEAM RECOMMENDATIONS🕺🏿

FOUNDER OF POLYESTER, IONE GAMBLE

FILM: Bill Cunningham New York - I remembered this documentary last week and need to rewatch! There’s been loads of thought pieces about how street style is dead and I remember watching this when it came out (at the peak of the blogging era) and feel like it can all make us feel less hopeless as we wade through hyper-cynicism towards fashion. A true legend! 

TV: Guillermo del Toro's Cabinet of Curiosities, but some of the episodes are straight up not worth watching. My fave was episode four which is directed by Ana Lily Amipour who did a girl walks home alone at night. Her ep has delicious 70s visuals and is honestly so creepy I felt unnerved for hours afterwards.

SOCIALS: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMFmdCQ2N/ this tiktok account (and their nylon mag archiving in particular) made me start rewatching original gossip girl and feel so disgustingly nostalgic for indie sleaze days

DEPUTY EDITOR, GINA TONIC

BOOK: Sour Heart by Jenny Zhang - I'm finally reading this and it is, of course, excellent. It's kind of like Girl, Woman, Other but teenage asian girls in New York. It's really a perspective that isn't encountered much in pop culture and goes into their immigrant families backstories too. The writing is funny as well as heart breaking and sometimes really viscerally gross too. I'll always be a short stories stan but if you struggle with them this is a good in as they are all interconnected in small ways.

TV: Guillermo Del Toro's Cabinet of Curiosities - I haven't seen enough people talking about this horror series!! Del Toro got different directors per episode to tackle all sorts of topics from the occult to possessed body lotion. Each ep is so different from the other in the best way and it has an outstanding cast too.

FILM: Benedetta - Again a lil late to the party but Benedetta really left me shook to my core. And it's a true story! If you like lesbian nuns (who doesn't), religious iconography and kick offs this is the one for you

CULTURE EDITOR, MISHA MN

MUSIC: I’ve got two music recs, both death related because I’m the Angel of death:

1. Mimi Parker died last week, who was a drummer and vocalist for the band Low, who I love. Been relistening to the album Things We Lost In The Fire, my fav. Also they have a banging Christmas album that I listen to every year, and by banging I mean slow and sad.

2. Gal Costa also died last week, who was someone I sort of knew about as a Brazilian star in the late 60s of Tropicalia music, a kind of mix of bossa nova and psychedelia. Been diving back in to her, and two stand out tracks for me are Baby and Lágrimas negras, very genre transcendent.

FILM: Finally watched David Cronenberg’s 1996 film Crash, which I think is his masterpiece. Felt very fully realised and a both fantastical and very real portrayal of extreme fetishists. Also scores points for depicting fluid sexual pairings and gender non-discrimination, because the characters serve the fetish, not the lover, which I think is true to life for people with those kind of compulsions haha

EDEN YOUNG, SOCIALS EDITOR

FILM: watched Carnival of Souls (1962) which is up on youtube for free! it's a b movie about a cold, bored woman who can't relate to anyone around her and who's inexplicably drawn to an abandoned fair on a pier. it's like a Hitchcock film directed by David Lynch and has some of the best depictions of anxiety and depersonalisation i've ever seen in a film. spooky southern gothic vibes. also the dialogue is sampled in a Lana Del Rey song and it's referenced in Phoebe Bridgers video so the girlies LOVE IT.

BOOK: about 5 years late to the party but i finished My Year of Rest and Relaxation in a few days and i loved it. nasty nasty little book. can't wait to see the film adaptation directed by Yorgos Lanthimos!! think he'll do a perfect job at portraying how horrible and vile women can truly be.

TV: it's White Lotus season baby! First season slaps, second one is also phenomenal so far. i'm so ready for a Michael Imperioli renaissance. also i was listening to a podcast with the shows creator, Mike White on and he said this season he wrote it with "horny women in mind because we don't see enough horny women on tv" and i respect him so much for that.

CONTRIBUTING EDITOR, HATTI REX

TV: White Lotus because it’s making me feel like going on holiday would actually be bad even though I spend all my time freezing atm.

FILM: triangle of sadness is probably the most I’ve laughed in the cinema in my life, if you wanna see rich people having a nightmare you need to see.

BOOK: The Odyssey - I don’t know why all the media I’m consuming is holiday related but it’s about a woman who works on a cruise ship and her entire life is living on this boat and once again, shit gets weird.

ZINE: imagining feminist interfaces by tendernet collective asks questions about how we could work torwards having more inclusive technology.

MUSIC: hemlocke springs is all over TikTok and she’s bringing indie bangers back for real bb

BEAUTY EDITOR, GRACE ELLINGTON

TV: I’ve only just caught up with White Lotus season 1 ready for season 2 which is out now and I think if you missed it for whatever reason it is really worth watching.

BOOKS: Two I’ve read recently  month are older classics of the kind of eerie genre, Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived In the Castle and Joan Lindsey’s Picnic at Hanging Rock neither are fully horror but I’d say if you are a horror fan you will really like them both just girls doing spooky stuff in isolated locations and super atmospheric.

JUNIOR EDITOR, CHARLOTTE LANDRUM

FILM: I recently watched the horror film Barbarian (2022) and it was SO good. I always expect new horrors to be slightly disapointing, but this had so many twists and turns and felt like such a fresh story for the genre.

I also watched Identity (2003) starring my fav John Cusack, it's a ridulous thriller that keeps getting more and more silly - and it embodies all the good and the bad of early 2000's movies. Perfect for a rainy evening. 

MUSIC: I've been listening to Nia Archives' new single Baianá a looot, as well as having Selected Ambient Works 85 - 92 by Aphex Twin on repeat :)

C ya soooon 🥰

XOXO,

Charlotte ❤️

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member