Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #34

Hey dolls,

Here in London we’re about to head into a long weekend, so what better time could there be for a recommendations email? Here are a few books and films we’ve been enjoying at the moment, if you just so happen to be at a loose end!

Happy Easter to everyone celebrating, and happy weekend to you all!

Lauren O’Neill - Copy Editor

Film - Pretty Woman
Incredible of me to be “recommending” one of the most famous rom-coms ever made, but I watched this again the other night (it’s on Netflix!) and I have to say: it’s a classic for a reason. This is very much a film that could only have been made in 1990 (very much not sure on the politics), but it’s just two absolute movie stars – Richard Gere and Julia Roberts – firing on all cylinders, and looking amazing as they do it. The clothes! The sets in the hotel suite! It’s just so gorgeous to look at, and it has one of the all time great final snogs too. What a movie. For better or worse, they genuinely don’t make ‘em like this anymore.

Gina Tonic - Senior Editor 

Film: Ms. 45
Charlotte and I had another movie marathon and this was my favourite of the bunch, it’s revenge pulp film about a mute woman and was such a great watch especially following a character with no dialogue. 

Book: Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin
I keep catching myself in a rut of reading modern books about unhinged women so picked this up and I’m so glad I did!! Sped through it in one day, was such a gut wrenching and beautiful read that I could NOT put down.

Charlotte Landrum - Platform Editor

Film: The House of Tolerance (2011)
Misha showed me this very beautiful and distressing film which I hadn't heard of before, following the experiences of a group of women working at a 20th century brothel in Paris. Highly recommend for the incredible costuming and unique depictions of female relationships.

See you next time!

XOXO,

The Polyester Team <3

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member