Skip to main content

🕺🏿 NO NONSENSE 🕺

Hello hello hello to our lovely supporters <3

Welcome to our #11th No-Nonsense Newsletter. The newsletter where we give you all of our team recommendations. Here's what we are vibing with this month x

💋 Lets get into it! 💋

🕺🏿TEAM RECOMMENDATIONS🕺🏿

FOUNDER OF POLYESTER, IONE GAMBLE

FASHION: I bought this bag last week and implore you all to join me (Opens in a new window) (I got pink) 

PARTY:  We’re throwing a party for bronze / silver / gold members next week in London! Upgrade your membership and come!! We’re launching the next Dollhouse zine and they’ll also be free tooth gems, books, drinks and snacks!! 

TV:  Red Rose. It’s a British horror series on bbc that has terrible marketing but is actually really fun and scary. Watch it!!

COMMUNITY EDITOR, HALIMA JIBRIL 

TV: I watched The Last Movie Stars by Ethan Hawke which detailed the life of Paul Newman and his wife Joanne Woodward and tbh it changed my life 😭 Paul was writing a book about his life in like the 80s/90s and interviewed a bunch of people in his life about their relationship to him and later BURNED the recordings. Years later people found the transcriptions of the interviews so Ethan Hawke got a bunch of his actor friends to be the people interviewed for Newmans book and basically tell his story! It’s so amazing and Hawkes genuinely childlike love for acting is infectious. One of the best documentaries I’ve ever seen!

Also TV: Not to sound like an incel on brand with the podcast tho lol I’ve been watching a ridiculous amount of Rick and Morty LOL. I shan’t comment further. 

PODCAST: I’ve been listening to this new legendary audio documentary called Fear Of Missing Out (Opens in a new window), which is all about the histories we’re not taught about in schools! First ep came out yesterday.

MUSIC: I low-key hate music atm but Julia Jacklins news album Pre Pleasure is pretty good! 

DEPUTY EDITOR, GINA TONIC

BOOK: I've been reading loads these past few weeks so I've got two!! I flew through Little Weirds by Jenny Slate in about two days, it was so heart warming and affirming and just earnest in a way that I think more people need to be!! Very refreshing! 

I just also finished Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro - I actually read like 50 pages of this and pied it off earlier this year but I'm so glad I picked it up again! Really interesting themes on morality and class and AI. 

FILM:  I just watched Hellraiser for the first time and can't believe I've missed out this long, it's perfect parts camp and creepy and as someone who hates a lot of horror (no jump scares for moi) this was the perfect scary movie. 

TV: I watched Severance finally!! EVERYONE should watch it, I was really blown away. It is really disconcerting and uncomfortable at times though so I was only managing two eps a day, but I think that made me savour it more.

MUSIC:  I've been really into this indie dance band called Arlie that came up on my Spotify recommends, they're making me drag out that summer feeling 😌

JUNIOR EDITOR, CHARLOTTE LANDRUM

FILM: BODIES BODIES BODIES!! Was so excited for this and I feel like it matched my expectations! Rachel Sennott is such a star and she carried. Pete Davidson vaping on a cinema screen was quite jarring but I'll let it slide!

MUSIC: As we've had a lot of stormy weather I've been going back into my nu-metal era to match the surroundings. Listening to a lot of Deftones on the tram <3 

TV: I'm re-watching Breaking Bad for comfort and I cannot get over the outfits from the first seasons. I want all of Jane's flared trousers and black tops. Ballet flats too. Even Skyler has some incredble fits. 

PARTNERSHIPS DIRECTOR, GINA STEWART

BOOKS: I've read another Elif Shafak book - 10 minutes 38 Seconds in this Strange World. I loved it! Just ordered my third book to read by her.

C ya soooon 🥰

XOXO,

Charlotte ❤️

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member