Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #28

Hey dolls,

Merry Christmas and welcome to our final recommendations email of the year. We’re rounding up all of our favourite pop culture, festive and otherwise, plus, our Beauty Editor Grace gives us her top beauty picks of the year!

Enjoy!

XOXO,

The Polyester Team

Gina Tonic: Deputy Editor

Book: Nightbitch by Rachel Yoder
Omg this was the slowest starting book ever and I was slagging it off to loads of people then it GOES OFF!! 2023 was definitely the year of feral femininity and this book nails it, good book to pick up last minute as a gift for a mate.

Film: May December
This has just landed on streaming and was so so good, I went into it apprehensive but I think the mood was appropriately sombre for the subject matter with a really incredible performance from Julianne Moore. A really eerie one to not watch with your parents if they have an age gap relationship.

Ione Gamble - Founding Editor in Chief

TV: Real Housewives of Beverly Hills / Vanderpump Rules

I was away last week and one of my favourite holiday activities is watching TV while I get ready. I always knew I was destined to enter the Bravo universe but I deeply felt as if it would take over my life as soon as I began to partake… reader I was right. Since coming home I’ve downloaded Hayu and doubt I’ll watch any more Christmas films because I’m averaging four-five episodes a night of Housewives.

Film: May December (again)

Haven’t stopped thinking about this film since I watched it. Charlotte wrote her column on it this month so read that (Opens in a new window) for more coherent thoughts but all the discourse is annoying and I love this film. Also for anyone in New York there’s a Todd Haynes exhibition at the Museum Of Moving Image that has his full reference book for the film along with script pages. It was truly incredible to witness, in a tiny way, his process in creating the film’s world.

Film: It’s A Wonderful Life

So my third really obvious recommendation of the month, but I saw this for the first time last week which is a) shocking but b) it seems that lots of people haven’t seen it and it is BEAUTIFUL but very sad so bear that in mind lol.

Lauren O’Neill - Copy Editor

TV: Nighty Night

Recommending Nighty Night is basically like telling someone that chocolate is nice. It’s so obviously amazing that it feels pointless. If somehow you’re not initiated, though: Julia Davis plays Jill, a delusional hairdresser with absolutely no social graces, who becomes obsessed with her new neighbour, to the extent that she tells everyone her husband is dead. I think a lot of latter day “messy woman” TV shows try to inject too much pathos in among the chaos and I just respect Nighty Night so much for just genuinely being about Jill and her hilarious awfulness. It’s on iPlayer so it’s ripe for a Christmas rewatch.

Grace Ellington - Beauty Editor
2023 Beauty Recommendations

Saie Sun Melt Natural Cream Bronzer

This is probably my favourite of them all, I’m not normally a bronzer person but this is a must have for anyone with an olive undertone or whose skin gets “sallow” in the winter. It’s an invisible veil of warmth that is so subtle but rebalances the type of skin tones that tend to feel washed out with lack of sun without looking like you’re wearing anything.

Toofaced Hangover Pillow Balm

This has as replaced Laneige as my most deeply hydrating lip balm.

Rabanne Famous Lipcolour Matte

A super nice texture of soft matte lipstick that is still hydrating and creamy, and feels satiny and blurring on the lips. Also very nice packaging which feels glam.

Violette Bisou Blush

A matte cream blush stick that comes with a little brush on one end. I’ve been wearing this every day in shade Louise, a tawny peach, the formula is super easy to work with and the colour range is natural, radiant and looks very lit from within vibes

Misha MN - Culture Editor

Film: Carol

Who doesn’t love a Christmas Carol viewing? Todd Haynes at his romantic best, some poignant pining, light obsession with beautiful women, lovely costumes, shining intimacy, it’s all just heaven. Sophisticated lesbians and well decorated Christmas trees, what more could you want? Maybe for the cute shop girl to return the glove you left behind the other day…

Film: Batman Returns

Tim Burton Batman sex pest Christmas. Burton at his 90s peak, an understated Michael Keaton Batman, a grand grotesque from Danny DeVito and of course, an era defining portrayal of Catwoman from the gorgeous Michelle Pfeiffer. This woman made everyone horny, gay or trans. She is everything. She is Christmas to me. Whether she’s whipping the heads off mannequins, holiday shopping in the snow, or kidnapping an ice princess beauty queen, she is all I’ve ever wanted to be.

Music: “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” – Judy Garland

Objectively, the best Christmas song ever. It’s festive, it’s poignant, it’s optimistic, it’s nostalgic, it’s inspiring, it’s gut wrenching. It’s everything. Have yourself a merry little Christmas, let your heart be light! Next year all our troubles will be out of sight…

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member