Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #16

Hello hello hello to our lovely supporters <3

Welcome to our #15th No-Nonsense Newsletter. The newsletter where we give you all of our team recommendations. Here's what we are vibing with this month x

đź’‹ Lets get into it! đź’‹

🕺🏿TEAM RECOMMENDATIONS🕺🏿

DEPUTY EDITOR, GINA TONIC

OBJECT: I just got a Nintendo Switch after playing it non stop at Ione's house and I am addicted!! Only girlypop games like Mario and Pancake Tycoon but I'd love some recommendations for games if anyone has any!

FOOD: Me and my boyfriend just started cooking tteokbokki and it looks so intimidating from the outside but it's honestly a piece of piss and so so delish. Got inspired off TikTok.

EDEN YOUNG, MANAGING EDITOR

FILMS: I watched Tár and it's incredible. A tense, disturbing slow burn but so SO GOOD! Love that the film is basically asking: what if women used their power for evil, just like men! cinema needs more masculine, deep voiced butch lesbians in suits who slowly plot against everyone to benefit themselves.

I also rewatched Just My Luck last week starring Lindsay Lohan, Chris Pine (in his first major Hollywood film i think) AND MCFLY!!!! it's so funny and cute and makes me mourn the fact that the marvel-fication of cinema has completely abolished the mid level romantic comedy. McFly are integral to the plot which is just so bizarre and the whole thing is extremely 00s but it's a very enjoyable film. Excellent for a hungover Sunday afternoon. It's on Disney plus!

TV: Hatti recommended Welcome to Chippendales last time so I took that advice and I am loving it. Nice bit of true story 70s sleaze about the first male strip club in America with an excellent soundtrack and lots of sexy topless men. Starring Juliette Lewis AND everyone's new fave, Murray Bartlett. It's 10/10

CULTURE EDITOR, MISHA MN

MUSIC: Cleopatra Girls, a compilation album of various lesser known 1960s girl groups from the record label Cleopatra, featuring bands like The Falconettes and Vickie & The Van Dykes. Very cool underground sound, positively experimental in some cases, like the song I Wanna Be A Winner, whose deconstructed production sounds almost like minimalist Jamaica dub music. Capped off at the end by a great and very incongruous old fashioned romantic soprano love song by Harriet Rogers. 10/10

FILM: Almodovar’s Parallel Mothers from 2021. Very compelling drama about intwined motherhood with lots of soap opera twists and turns without being a shrieking mess. Penelope Cruz in her seventh or eighth Almodovar role is a shining star, a perfect meeting point of cinematic glamour and grounded reality. Rossy de Palma gets to float around in great clothes as fashion editor or agent or something too, very fun, with a very moving ending delving into cultural Spanish history and identity.

ACTIVITY: Naps. I’ve been taking naps at work recently when I get an hour to myself and it’s really helping me in the rest of my life to not be so tired lol. Take naps, but make sure they aren’t longer than an hour or it becomes just an early night.

JUNIOR EDITOR, CHARLOTTE LANDRUM

FILM: The Hours. This film was so engaging, it explored the subject of depression in women throughout generations in such an interesting way, and it took me days to realise that Virginia Woolf was played by Nicole Kidman with a prosthetic nose. To have these 3 actresses in a film together is such a treat!! 

TV: The Last of Us. As someone who used to avoid any apocolyptic, zombie films, I'm lovin it. I love the game too, and it's really exciting to see it be transformed into live action!

C ya soooon 🥰

XOXO,

Charlotte ❤️

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member