Skip to main content

NO NONSENSE #30

Hey dolls,

It’s time for another recommendations email! We’ve decided that going forward, these are going to be themed so that they feel especially apt for whatever’s going on. So, because it’s literally -4 in London today, we’re going with the theme of cold weather! Here are Polyester’s favourite cultural (and just general life) recommendations for the chilly snap:

Ione Gamble - Founding Editor-In-Chief

GETTING A CAT

Self explanatory, getting a cat is a good idea but especially in the cold weather because they’re basically a living hot water bottle. Adopt don’t shop though i beg!

TV: True Detective

OK so I’ve seen some people being snarky on Twitter saying the first episode of season four was terrible but I enjoyed it. Jodie Foster is incredible. Plus it’s nice to see people living in an absolutely freezing place to remind you that you’re actually fine.

FILM: Poor Things

Because we’re dropping a podcast episode about it on Monday 👼🏻

STOP SAYING SPRING IS COMING SOON

Sorry but it’s not. The coldest months are still to come so embrace the freeze, get a really nice coat, stay inside and drink a hot choc. It’ll make Spring all the sweeter when it is actually here!!!

Misha MN - Culture Editor

Film - Climax (2018, Noe)

I’m not going out this month, a combination of dry January and being absolutely broke, so in order to get my fill of nightlife related trauma, I rewatched Climax. Vaguely based on a true story, a troupe of French dancers get spiked at an afterparty and quickly start turning on each other in a neon red hellscape. Mentioned this in Culture Slut last month (Opens in a new window), but still absolutely necessary viewing for those who crave the dance floor.

Fashion - Wearing luxe fur coats with bad outfits

In the 1930s, Katherine Hepburn caused scandals in the Hollywood press for refusing to dress like a real movie star when she didn’t have to. It was once scathingly reported that she was seen getting out of her car at the studio wearing an exquisite new mink over shabby blue dungarees! Shock horror! I keep her spirit alive by putting nice furs over shitty tracksuits when I have to leave the house, looking like a glamorous sartorial rebel! Or maybe just like a bag lady with a nice coat.

Audiobook - Death du Jour by Kathy Reichs

I listen to audiobooks to go to sleep, and for a while I was listening to the Marquis de Sade’s Justine, but honestly I think it was giving me nightmares. I’ve now switched to one of Kathy Reichs early Tempe Brennan novels, about a forensic anthropologist and medical examiner, which went on to become the popular detective drama Bones. Death du Jour takes place partially in a very wintry Canada where she tries to excavate the grave of a saint in a frozen churchyard, and it made me appreciate that although I am cold, I’m not that cold. Thanks Kathy.

Charlotte Landrum - Platform Editor

Book: The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek

After watching the film I decided to torment myself even more by reading the book! It’s a well fitted read for when it's looking bleak outside. The narrative is really matching the grey skies of Manchester: frosty and unforgiving!

PORRIDGE

It’s porridge season girls. I treated myself to some (instant) porridge from M&S and it’s really nice. Although the other day I made it with water instead of oat milk because I felt like I needed to cool it with the oat consumption, and it was pure gruel. So put milk in it. Although eating gruel to start the day was incredibly humbling.

Lauren O’Neill - Copy Editor

TV: Big Boys

If you need something lovely to binge while you hide under your duvet, season two of Big Boys is the absolute best possible pick. Based on the experiences of the show’s writer Jack Rooke, it’s a comedy about university in the early 2010s, starring Dylan Llewelyn from Derry Girls in the lead role. If you like TV shows that stan Alison Hammond’s appearance on Strictly you will definitely love this.

See you soon,

XOXO

The Polyester Team

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Polyester Zine and start the conversation.
Become a member