Skip to main content

5 Reminders For Creative University Students

This week, BRICKS Deputy Editor and Associate Lecturer Madeline Reid shares her advice for new and returning students 

Around the UK, university students have been starting and returning to their courses and dorm rooms. It’s a time of great excitement, but it can also be a time of increased workloads, stress levels and high emotions. Navigating independent life while dedicating yourself to the development of your creative practice is a commitment not for the faint of heart, especially in higher education environments where critique, comparison and competition are rife.

As well as my role as Deputy Editor at BRICKS, I am also an Associate Lecturer at London College of Fashion supporting the BA Fashion Journalism course among others, and speaking at universities across the UK.

And, as I also return back to class this week, I’ve been reflecting on my time at university, what I wish I’d known and what I hope to impart to my incoming student. 

Below, I’ve shared my key reminders and advice for university or college students, although some of this advice can be applicable for anyone developing their creative practice or in the workplace.

To access the rest of this content, become a member of The Learner Platform!

START YOUR FREE TRIAL (Opens in a new window)

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of BRICKS magazine and start the conversation.
Become a member