Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Introducing: Tolkien MeMes

Those of you who have met me in person will probably know that I have a  penchant for the silliest of puns: acronyms, word play, you name it. I  am particularly fond and proud of my ability to find abbreviations that  tend to be easily explained - but then thou art seriously mistaken!

Tolkien MeMes: Middle-earth Memories

I have always found it very unfortunate that if you use hashtags like #Tolkien you will only ever find pictures and GIFs from the film(s). I think it's up to us to promote interest in the life and works of the Professor and I am very happy to see so many people doing that.

Now, what I am going to do is share some of my very own #MiddleearthMemories with you - fun, interesting, fascinating, emotional moments of being a fan of Tolkien's for 30+ years now. Starting from that I am hoping that others may join in and share their very own stories - anecdotes you can tell and share with fellow Tolkienists.

My first MeMe I will present to you soon is my first ever Tolkien Project. Think of it as a week in high school, forcing fellow pupils and teachers into drawing Middle-earth maps, writing up chronologies and generally be a nuisance of Sauronian proportions to the people in my school when I got permission to do this project 😅

Soon to come: A Week in Walinor!

MeMes so far

Tolkien MeMes #1. The Tolkien Project Week (Öffnet in neuem Fenster).

Tolkien MeMes #2. Exhibiting Tolkien at Berlin's State & Central Library, (Öffnet in neuem Fenster) Nov 2012 - February 2013.

Tolkien MeMes #3. "The Lord of the Rings" - our favourite cast of 1998 (?).

Tolkien MeMes #4. »75 reasons why you should read ›The Hobbit‹ (Öffnet in neuem Fenster) before watching the films« or: How TheTolkienist.com started in 2012.

Tolkien MeMes #5. My first ever talk at Oxonmoot in 2001 (Öffnet in neuem Fenster).

Tolkien MeMes #6. "Der kleine Hobbit" (Öffnet in neuem Fenster) at the Balver Höhle, 1996.

This post was originally published (Öffnet in neuem Fenster) on May 21, 2020.
Updates to this post as they arise.

Kategorie The Patreon Archives

0 Kommentare

Möchtest du den ersten Kommentar schreiben?
Werde Mitglied von The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more und starte die Unterhaltung.
Mitglied werden