Passa al contenuto principale

NO NONSENSE #23

Hey dolls,

It's Friday, the sun is shining in London, and we're back for another edition of our recommendations newsletter No Nonsense. Here's everything the Polyester team are loving right now.

Lauren O'Neill - Copy Editor

Music: The Con by Tegan and Sara

I'm having a massive regressive phase at the minute (did anyone say 'last summer of your 20s'?) and I'm really getting back into a lot of the music I loved when I was solidly in my Tumblr era as a teen. I was a really big Tegan and Sara fan when I was younger and their album The Con was something I always reached for when the weather was turning and I was trundling to and from college as the air got a bit colder. It's so atmospheric and really beautiful for this time of year.

Book: Greenfeast by Nigel Slater

Not a literature recommendation but a cookbook one here – I am a Nigel Slater stan because I think he's amazing at giving vegetables the attention and love they deserve, and Greenfeast is a book that is totally devoted to cooking veg beautifully. There's a summer edition too, but I always find myself going back to the autumn/winter one, just because it's nice to be a cosy bitch roasting up a pumpkin or something. Again, another one that's especially great as September changes to October and the nights slowly draw in.

Misha MN - Culture Editor

Film: Opening Night

By John Cassavetes, staring his wife, cinematic goddess and messy girl icon Gena Rowlands. She plays an aging alcoholic star in a new play about the thing she’s trying to run away from: getting older. It’s like a 70s version of All About Eve, but if Eve had died in the first twenty minutes and the rest of the film was Margo Channing having a complete breakdown. Great styling too, some definite shades of Jessica Lange’s Fiona Goode from AHS Coven in there, clearly Gena has always been ahead of the curve.

Music: Songs From The Last Century by George Michael

I recently had a romantic encounter on the seafront in the early hours of the morning, and the guy played this album on his phone and it was amazing. George Michael’s interpretation of the greatest songs of the 30s and beyond, Billie Holiday, Roberta Flack, Nina Simone, and then, for some reason, Roxanne by Sting. Very nice, great mood setter for slow and sexy nights.

Services: NHS drop in clinics

After said encounter I had to go to the clinic and it is just amazing that you can get screened, swabbed and cured completely for free, not not even charged for antibiotic prescriptions. Im now on prep which was also completely free, has been since 2020, and they gave me three months worth just like that. God bless the NHS, and we must do absolutely everything we can to make sure the tories don’t destroy it. Fuck the Tories! Save the NHS!

Charlotte Landrum - Platform Editor

Film: Happiness

This film is really disgusting and funny but mostly disgusting. I forgot most of the plot during the rewatch, and forced my friends to watch it as a 'fun comedy' but everyone felt sick by the end. Nevertheless it's one of the best films I've ever seen!

YouTube: Early American

This channel features a woman making recipes from the 1800s in her cottage in the middle of the woods. It features no talking and she stays true to the original ways it was made, tools and all. I think it's pretty cool.

Gina Tonic - Deputy Editor

Film: Fatal Attraction

I always put off watching this because I knew the ending and other shocking bits (no spoilers haha) but it was actually such a good watch!! She walked so Amy Dunne could run!!!! Really made me realise I haven't seen enough Glenn Close films, will be rectifying that ASAP.

Pokemon: The Teal Mask

Idk when Pokemon Scarlet and Violet came out but I sped through them in a pit of depression this summer BUT they just added a new storyline download that is really fun! And cute!! You go on a school trip to a new town, loads of new Pokemon and characters and I just find it so so useful for decompressing when I'm stressin out atm.

See you next time,

XOXO

The Polyester Team

0 commenti

Vuoi essere la prima persona a commentare?
Abbonati a Polyester Zine e avvia una conversazione.
Sostieni