Passa al contenuto principale

I’m Coming Out!

Normally we like to start every newsletter with a short, “humorous” comment. This newsletter, however, is a little different. Nicki has something she’d like to share, and we want you to go right there.

Things continue as normal after that, including the bad jokes, and we have some great things that we‘re excited to share with you. 

  1. I’m Coming Out!

  2. July Massive Fun Photo Dump

  3. Up next

By the way: If you haven't, please subscribe to our monthly newsletter and get it directly into your inbox:

I’m Coming Out!

This is the important part of the newsletter - a message from our front-person, Nicki:

“My dear ERNSTis, maybe you’ve already seen it on Instagram or heard it somewhere else. As you - the newsletter subscribers - are our core fans, I also wanted to make a clear statement as to what gender identity I have.”

I identify as non-binary (more precisely genderfluid), and my pronouns are she/they.

If you are a fan of videos rather than reading, you can watch my explanation of what that means to me here:

https://youtu.be/JrXXGOiYRns (Si apre in una nuova finestra)

… and / or keep reading 😉:

“I already felt some kind of gender fluidity when I was a kid and for some time, I was also free to express myself the way I wanted to. Then I was told off by a teacher that this wasn’t the way girls behave or look. They were apparently meant to be friendly, quiet and shy and wear "feminine” clothes and haircuts (and a whole ton of other things).”

“It’s taken me decades to liberate myself from a lot of these societal preconceptions and stereotypes. Finding my singing voice and performing on stage has certainly helped that process. Supportive friends, reading feminist literature and therapy have also been useful to find out who I really am.”

“Now I’m finally at a stage in life where I no longer want to hide. Funnily enough, motivational songs have subconsciously poured out of me over the past years, in which I have been telling myself that it’s okay the way I am (i.e. Don’t Buy It, Be Quiet, Liberator, The Maze, Peter Pan).”

“Even so, to believe and fully accept myself, I needed to come out. I want to be an ally to myself and to all who have similar experiences of feeling different.”

“Thanks to you all for supporting our music and our messages! ERNST aim to be an open-minded, accepting band and be critical of what our patriarchal society deals us.”

July Massive Fun Photo Dump

July gave us the opportunity to play 3 wonderful concerts: Rhiz (Vienna), Schlommerfest (Linz) and Kunstmue (Bad Goisern). Thanks so much to all who came along to watch. Here are a ”few” of our favourite photos:

Rhiz

© Ana Joksović

Schlommerfest

© Christoph Leeb

Bad Goisern

© Wolfgang Kofler

What’s up next?

Saturday, 3 August: Forhave Festival, Copenhagen (DK)
So this is a funny story. You’ll hear about it next month 😉

Saturday, 24 August: Kunst & Wein (Si apre in una nuova finestra), Haugsdorf (NÖ)
Come and see us play in the picturesque streets of Haugsdorf, lined with wine cellars (Dan claims to “know his Riesling from his Gemischter Satz” but ”we don’t buy it”). One thing is for sure - we will be playing at 20:30.

New single release
We’re releasing our new single “Neue Saiten” (yes, a German song this time!) on 30 August so you’ll get the link in our next newsletter edition! Stay tuned! 🤩

A goodbye, but not for long...

Thanks so much for reading and for your interest in us as a band and our music. We really appreciate you took the time and hope you had fun with the extra content!

Lots of love,

ERNST 💗💛💜