Passa al contenuto principale

Newsletter No 7 - Rosewood

Welcome to Newsletter No 7,

Firstly I would like to thank all the new people who joined my membership platform in the last two weeks and those who decided to follow me on social media. Five new people joined the newsletter last week, and 200 joined my social media platforms.

If you want to support my work, you can do so by pressing the button below.

Since we last spoke, I've been working on the following:

  • The creation of my series/course on Ancient Egypt

  • Getting my social media posts translated into other languages

  • A longer piece about the Red Summer

I've been thinking about social media and what I can and can't share online. After much soul-searching, I decided to save my best work for this newsletter and my membership platform. I want to reach as many people as possible. Still, after getting shadow banned once again (and in black history month, too), I dont want to risk having the 1300 posts I've shared getting taken down.

So from now on, social media is for the light stuff, call it an introduction, and my membership and newsletter are for my best and most meaningful work.

There's no time like the present, so this week, I want to share a brief story about the Rosewood Massacre of 1923.

Content warning, the contents that follow describe violent and disturbing actions; if you are not having the best of days, please avoid this story.

So with that said, let's get to it...

The Rosewood Massacre of 1923 was a violent attack by a white mob against the African-American residents of the town of Rosewood, Florida. This attack lasted from January 1st to January 8th and resulted in the destruction of the town and the deaths of many of its inhabitants.

The town was entirely destroyed by the end of the violence, and the residents were driven out permanently. The story was mostly forgotten until the 1980s when it was revived and brought to public attention.

The violence started on New Year's Day when a white woman in a nearby town accused a black man of assaulting her. A mob of nearly two hundred whites, led by a well-known white supremacist and a sheriff's deputy, descended on Rosewood in search of the accused man. Once in Rosewood, the mob began to attack the African-American residents.

Several homes and businesses in Rosewood were destroyed, and African-American citizens were brutally beaten. As the violence escalated, more whites joined the mob, shooting and burning down homes, churches, schools and stores. People who tried to flee the town were chased down and killed

The exact number of deaths is unknown, as many of the victims were never accounted for or buried in unmarked graves. It is believed that at least six people were killed, but that number may have been as high as sixty.

The Rosewood Massacre was a horrific event in American History that is rarely discussed. It is a reminder of the violence and hatred used to oppress African-Americans during this period. It is also a stark reminder of the power of organized mobs and the importance of standing up to hate and injustice. We must never forget the past and use it to inform our actions today.

That's a brief introduction to this dark episode in History that forms part of a longer article I'm working on.

If you like this story or want to share your thoughts, please reply to this email; I love to know your thoughts.

Until next week,

Blessings,

KK

Argomento Newsletter

0 commenti

Vuoi essere la prima persona a commentare?
Abbonati a Black History Buff e avvia una conversazione.
Sostieni