Skip to main content

UK Nuclear Site: Is There More To The Guardian's Claims Of A Cyber Threat To Sellafield?

The Sellafield nuclear site - a cornerstone of the UK's nuclear fuel reprocessing and waste storage - found itself once again the subject of controversy (Opens in a new window) earlier this month. Among complaints of other safety violations and risks (Opens in a new window), The Guardian's ongoing investigation paints a picture of a decade-long cyber siege (Opens in a new window), allegedly orchestrated by Russian and Chinese threat actors, on top of other claims of substandard safety practices. This revelation, if substantiated, doesn't just raise alarms about Sellafield's digital defenses, but also echoes broader concerns about the security of critical infrastructure amid rising geopolitical tensions.

A note going forward in this article: many of these sources are found in various works by The Guardian and several Irish publications, as part of their ongoing investigation, though it's my hope that I provide some extra context to some of the exhibits. I'm mentioning this, because I feel it would be wrong to present the documents as if I dug them out myself. I'll highlight the parts that were my own work.

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help us fund our work to ensure we can stick around long-term.

See our plans (Opens in a new window)

Topic The Moloch-Unlocked

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of The Moloch and start the conversation.
Become a member