Skip to main content

What I do in the garden in February

The answer is usually everything! 

In February everything is starting to wake up (Opens in a new window). (Check out this Instagram Reel (Opens in a new window) of how things are currently looking)

But, you get the false sense of security that it's getting warmer, turn the heating off, go out into the garden without a coat, and then forget it's technically still winter and go back in again.

Then there's always that surprise polar vortex!

But, on the days that it is a bit warmer, then I'm out like a shot, doing a garden audit and catching up on chores that should have been done in November! Eek.

Well, I had a very good excuse this year because I was revising for my Royal Horticultural Society Level 2  Certificate in Practical Horticulture (Opens in a new window) exams. 

Two days of intensive exams on planting, pruning, propagating, planning, maintaining and the science of plants!

I have to say I learnt a LOT. 

Especially in how to properly plant and care for plants. I realised how my usual technique of digging a hole and shoving it in isn't actually as good as properly creating the right planting environment and preparing the soil. Preparation can make all the difference to future maintenance and the plant's ability to fend off disease and pests.

I was also really encouraged about how much consideration there was for peat-free planting, going pesticide free and dealing with pests, diseases and disorders in an organic way. 

Anyway, regardless of whether I pass or not, this month's activities are very much informed by that learning.

1. Check that the right plants are in the right place

This year, I've got lots of photos of my garden beds so know what needs to be moved.

Shrubs that look out of place are going to be lifted and rehomed elsewhere, including Sambucus nigra 'Black Lace' cuttings that are now quite large shrubs.

Plus I'm lifting daffodils that were in the wrong place and popped them into pots, so will move them to their final home now too.

I've also got a lot of allium bulbs in pots that still need a home too!

2. Check plant spacing

I know my plants need space, but every year at this time things look so bare and I panic and stuff more in, only to be faced with overcrowding and powdering mildew issues.

This year, I've been assessing my photos from the seasons to see what needs to be moved about. There are lupins too close to fruit trees, perennials on top of each other, and bulbs wedged where they shouldn't be.

At this time of year, you can just about see the tips of hostas and bulbs and the lupins, so I'll be doing a full audit to give all my lovely plants the space they need to thrive.

3. Ordering bare root perennials

I usually order bare-root roses, but this year, I've ordered some summer flowering perennials as bare-root too.

I was looking for more easy-going plants that would be slug-resistant, drought resistant and tolerate some shade and thankfully Netherlands-based Farmer Gracy (Opens in a new window)has a wide selection of bare root perennials to choose from.

Geranium sylvaticum 'Album'
Geranium phaeum 'Sambor'
Astrantia 'Roma'
Achillea millefolium 'Summer Pastels' - "Yarrow"

These should hopefully fill up gaps in my borders!

4. Planting some hardy annuals

I have some sweet peas overwintering but am going to get some more hardy annual seeds started off undercover and in a heated propagator.

Every year I get this started on the windowsills, but then face a constant battle to get the seedlings enough light, prevent damping off and stop etiolation(long white weak stems angled towards the light).

This year's hardy annuals will include Calendula Officinalis, Tropoaeolem majus 'Empress of India,' Nigella 'Miss Jekyll.'

An additional challenge to contend with this year is a kitten who loves digging in my pots!

5. Thinking about planting for pollinators

We have a specific patch of the garden that we have crammed with plants for butterflies and bees. This year my daughter and I are going all out to add a butterfly feeder and some homemade butterfly houses. 

Plus we have some new family members which will be relying on the pollen too!

Not one, but two sets of Irish Native honey-bees. 

I'll be looking for ways to support them and create corridors of flowers so they can move around our oddly shaped garden.

6. Creating more wildlife areas

I have a mini pond nestled under some plants and a slightly larger one that was made from a plastic sand pit over lockdown. They have both become a bit neglected and overgrown. 

This February, I'll be enlarging and replacing my lockdown pond, with some proper pond liner. Plus, I'll be balancing out the range of plants and mixing some floating aquatics like Nymphae and some oxygenators like Myriophyllum verticillatum.

Two new birdhouses will also be going up now as it takes the birds a while to sus out new living quarters and redecorates etc! :)

7. Checking on bulbs

Hands up if it's a surprise that Hyacinth popped up right next to that pear tree. ME!!!

I know it's not the best time to move them, but for some, I'll just have to take the risk.

I'm also planting up some pots of miniature Muscari 'Siberian Tiger'  a white grape hyacinth that should flower the whole of March and April. Plus Muscari 'White Magic' that flowers slightly later in April and May. 

These will sit on my potting bench with some Narcissus 'Tête-à-Tête' bulbs.

8. Potting up Dahlias

I always leave this too late or don't give my Dahlias enough heat or light to get them going and then they take forever to bloom.

With a very short growing season in Northern Ireland, I need to get things going.

I'm always jealous of everyone's beautiful blousy blooms in summer and I'm still staring at buds at the beginning of September!

So this year, I'm going to pot up some dahlias and set them in the outdoor south-facing cold frame (as I don't have a greenhouse) and raise them up off the ground.  I'm also going to bring some into the house in a cool room near the window and see how they progress.

This way I can hopefully get some cuttings from the main shoot and have them ready to plant out in May.

Need some help with potting up...Sarah Raven does a very simple video showing how to pot the tubers or "bunch of salamis" here:

"Don't bury them too deeply"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHpiPzia6Dw&list=TLGGVcT-9vfD5kEwODAyMjAyMw (Opens in a new window)

Happy gardening!

NOTES:

What I'm reading this month: 

  • My house plant changed my life: Green wellbeing for the great indoors - David Domoney

This gives you some easy to follow tips on maintaining your houseplants.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/House-Plant-Changed-Life-wellbeing/dp/024145851X (Opens in a new window)

Where I studied: 

https://www.learningwithexperts.com/gardening/courses/rhs-level-2-collection (Opens in a new window)

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of Gardenwilde and start the conversation.
Become a member