Passer au contenu principal

Revisited: Does Albus Dumbledore have anything to do with Tolkien?

As a Tolkienist reading my favourite author’s works is both a pleasure and an inspiration. J.R.R. Tolkien has envisaged a fantastic world which seems both boundless and ever-changing as my own perception of its possible messages and hidden meanings changes over time (while perfectly ignoring the option that there are no messages and meanings.)

Recently, I stumbled over a single and very rare word in one of Tolkien’s most complex poems called ‘Errantry (S'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)‘ (which to students of English Literature and Linguistics at the University of Cologne was a pain in the backside as one of the professors had people try and find out its rhyme scheme – do have a go (S'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)!) and this word is ‘Dumbledors.’

To read this post you'll need to become a member. Members help me fund my work to ensure I can share my joy in Tolkien even better.

Join me on Steady 🥰 (S'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)

Sujet The Patreon Archives

4 commentaires

Souhaitez-vous voir les commentaires ?
Devenez membre de The Tolkienist's Roving Ranger, Asleep in Arda and more pour rejoindre la conversation.
Adhérer