Skip to main content

How To: Deal with Being Fired According to People Who Have Been Fired

With unemployment potentially on the rise due to threats of a new recession, BRICKS Editor Tori West shines a light on how to cope if you're suddenly without work.

Losing your job can be one of the most humiliating and anxiety-inducing experiences. I've been fired three times. However, it's taken me around six years to openly admit it due to the stress and embarrassment it all caused me. When I applied for new jobs, people would always ask why I left a particular role, and I'd panic all over again. The stress became too much to bear. No one wants to admit when they've failed or experienced work-based trauma. However, failure and rejection are some of the biggest things we all may, unfortunately, have to learn at some point during adulthood. 

Ultimately, I went freelance, became a part-time cleaner and started my own business with no savings or anything to fall back on. Thankfully, after years of unsociable working hours, it ended up paying off for me, but I wish I had the tools and advice in the direct aftermath of losing my role, so it didn't trigger my fight-or-flight mode for so long. I had no one to confide in that had been through something similar. 

We need to have more open conversations about losing work to find enough support to overcome these stressful experiences sooner. So for this piece, we asked several creatives who have experienced being fired or have been made redundant to share their tips on how they healed. We've also put together a list of emergency resources if you ever struggle financially and mentally from suddenly losing your job. 

To read the full feature, you'll need to become a member. Members help us fund our work to ensure we can stick around long-term.

BECOME A MEMBER (Opens in a new window)

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of BRICKS magazine and start the conversation.
Become a member