Skip to main content

#09 wooden bow tie

For my wedding I made a wooden bow tie matching my wife's dress.

The plan was to make colored plywood from light wood veneers. So I ask at a local carpentry for some maple or birch veneers. After cutting the veneers in 3”x 6” pieces, I've let them in a staining solution for 24 hours. Befor glueing them up, I'd let them dry overnight.

At this point I realized, that I better should have cut them differently because getting an alternating grain direction was crucial. Lucky everything went well.

I let the glue dry for 24 hours before I went to my local makerspace to cut the rough shape on the band saw and then sanded it.

I’m very happy how the bow tie turn out. The color matching is almost perfect.

Here's the video 

https://youtu.be/e6Qmbu90evw (Opens in a new window)

.

0 comments

Would you like to be the first to write a comment?
Become a member of squarecitypieces and start the conversation.
Become a member